You Mean a World to Me!

It’s your birthday, you are just about to cut the cake, but your eyes are fixed on your mobile and in that instant, a blink of light is flashed through the screen that indicates ‘Abbu is calling’; excitedly you pick up the call to hear the birthday wish from your father.  This is one of the best gifts for your D-day.  There are some children who live with their father and then there are those who have lost their fathers, but there is also one more facet-those fathers who have to live apart from their family due to monetary incentive.

My father lives in another country because of his job. It has never been an easy ride. There are moments when you miss your father but he cannot be there with you; even though you are one call away but this does not make up for his presence. I remember during my school days when I used to receive any award, I always wanted my father to see me but it was never possible because of holiday problems. Even in my last convocation where I received a shield and my name was called out, I got teary eyed with happiness and longing for my father to be here and see me receiving an award.  In my birthdays, small gatherings and even in an evening cup of tea, I miss his presence… it’s not like I cannot talk to him but yes as the time passes, you wish more of your father’s company.

It is always those little moments that count a lot, like sitting with him and talking aimlessly about your favourite ice cream or movies. However my father still manages to make his presence felt by his calls, letters and infrequent visits to his home. When I was small, it was always about chocolate and gifts but then as I grow up and after spending a four month long time with him I found a very good friend in him with whom I can joke around and share my secrets. He understands my worries from my voice although I put up a smiley face in front of everyone, but he is the one who recognizes the concealed hesitation in my voice.

It is true that a relation of father and daughter shares a special bond-we are the apple of their eyes. He makes me feel like a princess and for any daughter; his father is an ideal man who supports her, look after her and gives her courage to face the harshness of the world.  He stands tall with full strength to protect you from any evil eye.

Whether it’s Eid, Ramadan or any special occasions or even any outing you plan for, you miss your abbu in those moments. It is true that father does not show love to their children like my abbu cannot express his utmost love to me and he never says that he loves me but his small gestures of care reflects the love he has for me. My father is very bad in giving blessing because of his struggle to choose right words, but deep down in my heart I know that words don’t matter, what matter is his pure love and support for me.

We are two sisters, and I remember my grandparents wanted a grandson but my father felt proud of having two little angels in his life. He used to ride on his shoulder on way back to our home. We have grown up and busy in our lives and get less time to talk but he always make it a point to call us so many times that we did not feel his absence.We love to watch TV and I vividly remember that we used to have a race that who will grab the remote first—this is what our relation was. He is witness to all my stories of first crush, my favourite teacher, my favourite movie and my horrible nightmares. He remembers the birth-date and religiously send the birthday card every year. To keep up this relation he makes all his efforts; I remember I made a burned chapatis and he ate all of it and even praise my effort… The time when he cried alone when he was not able to fulfill our wish, but only beamed with pleasure while making our wishes true.  We miss this beautiful relation that has made our life blissful.  I know he feels that we do not love him because we have a long distance relationship but for now, I want him to know that he is the best dad and will always be.

Today is not any father’s day but what difference does it make? It is all about appreciating your loved ones on each day and to make them feel special because after all you are their inspiration. Thank you Abbu for all the love and encouragement, you are the best father in entire world:)

9 Comments

  1. *tears* I am going through the same too since childhood. My father is in Merchant Navy nad is never present at auspacious occasions. Its really very hard to celebrate and miss our dads.But yea they are doing it for us and tht is basic . Happy Birthday to your dad. 🙂 beautifullll post.:) 🙂 🙂

    Like

  2. wow..this is so beautiful 🙂 i totally agree fathers are not the ones expressing their love,but all their little gestures are more than enough to let you know how they feel about you..may Allah bless your dad with everything best 🙂 and strengthen your relation 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

