You Can Never Be A Good Journalist!

“You can never be a good journalist,” said my course in-charge to me while inquiring about my absence from the class. Though it seemed normal but the impact was enormous. I began to think that why she said this to me?It’s because I did not have the guts to come up myself and ask about her presence for tomorrow or it was due to my coward behavior as stated by her.

Journalist 'at work'

Over the time, I realized it’s true because as a journalist, it is important to be strong and accept your fault with head held high;not only accept it but also rectify it. Deadlines are important in a reporter’s life, you have to complete your story in a time period and if you cannot deliver so you are considered unprofessional. I am not good at following my deadlines and this is not a good trait.

Although these kinds of harsh statements made by our teachers are not to de-motivate us because this is a learning phase for us. Professional life is much callous than the remarks given by our lecturers. But then I do not understand why the practical life is so harsh. Every person is not of same nature though some take these inconsiderate remarks in the positive stride but few are there who just fall back to the ground and give up.

I do know that I won’t fall back and this is one of the lessons which I will always remember because there are few words which just stay with you forever and this is one of them.

Leave a Reply

